Farley Mount – Ashley – Clarendon Way

Gorgeous sunny day today for Easter weekend so I decided to go for a walk with my camera in hand.  Rape Fields

Found the Walkingworld website after a search on Google for some ideas for where to go.  It’s got thousands of walks on it and you can either buy a subscription or pay per walk so I thought I’d give one a try.  Walk 1944 was listed as an easy circular walk starting at Farley Mount and so seemed to be a good one to go for.  For your money you get an OS map, and step by step instructions for the route complete with photographs so you can check you’re heading the right way.

Spring Blossom

The walk was about 10km long and took about 2 hours 45 minutes.  It was a really pretty walk and had some lovely views of Hampshire countryside…although I did have to walk up some big hills to see them!  I wouldn’t describe it as ‘easy’ quite like the website did but I did really enjoy it and I’m sure it helped burn off a few calories from the Easter Eggs that I’ll be enjoying this weekend!

From Farley Mount it headed down into the village of Ashley.  At one point the public footpath actually goes through someones back garden!  It takes you up to Ashley church for a quick look round, and then heads on through the fields in a loop before joining the Clarendon Way.

I’ve uploaded the best photographs onto a Flickr set.


 

2 Responses to “Farley Mount – Ashley – Clarendon Way”

  1. different4me Says:

    How envious am I?! One of the things I miss most about living away from England, is that I’m not able to go walking (without being on concrete, next to a tower block, or collapsing from heat exhaustion!).

    I’m really glad to hear you have subscribed to Walkingworld – keeps those kind of initiatives up and in business (because I imagine that the majority of subscribers probably won’t be able to renew in, say, 10-15 years from now).
    And please post some more entries for the walks that you do. It’s the closest thing I have to being there myself.

  2. Chris Tomkins’ Blog » Blog Archive » Farley Mount - Ashley - Clarendon Way Says:

    […] I decided to do the Farley Mount – Ashley walk from Walkingworld as recommended by Helena (read her review and take a look at her Flickr photo set to see what she thought of the walk in […]

Leave a Reply

