Hillier Gardens

DSCF5289I went to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens near Romsey in Hampshire today.  I wanted to get out and get some fresh air, as it has stopped raining for a change.  I also wanted to try out my new wide angle lens that I got for my birthday.

The gardens seemed like a good place to go and remember my grandma who sadly died a couple of days ago, as she had such a beautiful garden.  I’ll miss her a lot, but I have many happy memories of her.

DSCF5407There is currently an ‘Art in the Garden’ exhibition on throughout the gardens with many different contemporary craft and sculpture pieces scattered throughout the park.  Some were really interesting, and others bizarre.  I really liked the metal dragonflies that were near the main entrance.

The gardens were nice although I was a little disappointed that there weren’t more flowers.  I don’t know if I picked a bad time of years to go, but apart from the Centenary Border and the Hydrangea Walk area, much of the gardens were different shades of green and I felt lacked some vibrancy.  DSCF5295The flowers in the Centenary Border were spectacular though and full of butterflies and bees.  It gave me a good opportunity to try some macro photography – although I had to be quick as they wouldn’t pose for me!

One Response to “Hillier Gardens”

  1. jonb49 Says:

    Hillier Gardens looks like a great place to go. My aunt and uncle live in Romsey so maybe I’ll try and get to visit it some time. By the way you picture of the Peacock Butterfly is superb.

Leave a Reply

