Mottisfont Abbey

Mottisfont Abbey1Another sunny day…anyone would think it was summer!  I took my camera out to Mottisfont Abbey in Hampshire this afternoon.  We’d done a nice walk from Mottisfont the other week and parked in the Abbey carpark, so I thought I’d go and see what the house and grounds were like.

The house is a former 13th-century medieval priory which is set in grounds alongside a river, and today is owned by the National Trust.  At the top end of the garden is a walled garden – I believe the best time to go is in mid-late Spring when the roses are at their best.  Today, the garden smelt lovely with rows of lavendar lining some of the paths.

Lavendar Row2You can go inside parts of the house and some of the rooms were very elegant.  Unfortunately, no photography is allowed so I couldn’t take any shots.  There were some interesting old bookcases inside the library which would have made a nice shot, and even one fake bookcase which was a door to a secret passage!

I felt the entrance fee (£7.50) was quite expensive for what there was there, but overall it was a pleasant enough afternoon.  I noticed that they had evening film shows followed by fireworks which might be pleasant on a nice summers evening.

4 Responses to “Mottisfont Abbey”

  1. ~Sue-Leigh Says:

    lovely place

  2. Andy Piper Says:

    Nice shots. I’ve only been to the opera and classical music concerts in the evening there. I really ought to explore during daylight one time.

  3. davidlind Says:

    What kind of a camera do you use, Helena?

  4. Helena Says:

    I use a Fuji S7000. No fancy SLR for me, but it has enough for me to experiment with at the moment!

Leave a Reply

