Mamma Mia…let me go again!

For Christmas I got a ticket to go and see Mamma Mia in London with my parents.  It’s one musical I have wanted to see for quite a while as I love Abba songs, and I’d also heard really good reviews about it. 

The story is about a young girl who is getting married.  She has been brought up by her mother, but wants her father to be at her wedding.  So after reading her mum’s diary she contacts the 3 possible men who could be her dad and invite them along.  The show is hilariously funny in places and touching in others, and the music is fantastic. 

I absolutely LOVED this musical and would go again tomorrow if I could! 

The musical is on at the Prince of Wales Theatre and I was really impressed with the theatre.  It has a nice retro feel to it, and the legroom wasn’t too bad either.  I also liked that there were areas outside the main seating area where you could stretch your legs in the interval.

Before the show we went out to eat at the Island Restaurant at Lancaster Gate.  Not knowing London very well I used the Visit London website, which has a really useful feature of allowing you to search for restaurants, attractions, hotels and more by postcode.  The Island Restaurant was near to where we were staying and seemed to have good reviews.

The restaurant is quite modern and has a pleasant atmosphere.  The food was quite pricey and the portions could have been a little larger, but it was quite a nice meal.  I had their fish and chips for my main course and sorbet for dessert.  Including wine, the meal came to about £30 each for two courses.

Over night we were staying in the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court hotel.  It was newly refurbished and quite centrally located near Paddington station.  Price for a double room and breakfast was about £70 which seemed a good offer.  The rooms were very small and the double bed was more like a single!  However, everything was clean and the staff pleasant enough.  I’d stay again, but consider booking a twin room instead of a double just for more space.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Mamma Mia…let me go again!”

  1. Mamma Mia the movie « Helena’s Blog Says:

    […] Mia the movie I absolutely loved Mamma Mia the musical when I went to see it last year, so when I heard they were making a film version I was excited.  I wasn’t quite sure what it […]

  2. The Wedding Singer « Helena’s Blog Says:

    […] heard them.  All in all I’d recommend it, and probably watch it again, but having seen Mamma Mia last year, which was fabulous, I am struggling to beat […]

  3. Hairspray and Kensington Close Hotel « Helena’s Blog Says:

    […] I really enjoyed the show and would like to see it again, although it still doesn’t beat Mamma Mia off my top […]

Leave a Reply

