50 Years of IBM Hursley

Yesterday, to celebrate 50 Years of IBM Hursley Park, IBM held a big open day for staff, friends and family.  IBM Hursley is set in over 100 acres of beautiful countryside, and at the centre sits the 18th century house which is now used as offices.  Over the years it has had a variety of uses – from a home, to a development lab for the Spitfire, to the last year years where it has been the home of IBM.  The day started at 2pm with lots of activities and events all afternoon, and the finale was a concert and fireworks on the lawn. 

Open Day1

I arrived early to help set up the Marwell Zoo show trailer.  So what were Marwell doing at IBM?  Well, as well as myself, there are a number of IBMers, past and present, who have helped volunteer at Marwell Zoo.   IBM encourages it’s employees to volunteer in the community.  Over the last couple of years we’ve run a couple of business workshops on Presentation Skills and Creative Meetings, donated some laptop computers and presented Marwell with a IBM On Demand Community Grant which sponsors the Marwell e-newsletter.  My colleagues at IBM are always teasing me about bringing a tiger to IBM… and yesterday I did!

The cricket pitch and lawn was covered in activities for people to get involved in – including bouncy castles, kite flying and teddy parachute jumps, charity stands, animals (including some rather cute baby piglets!), classic car show, food and drink stalls and much more!  Then there were various events happening throughout the day including dance shows and bands playing, a tv magician and at 4pm there was an aerial display from a Spitfire plane.

TreeInside Hursley House there was a number of display stands, including one from the IBM Hursley Photograph Club.  I was very proud to that one of my photographs had been selected to be displayed for the event. 

My photograph was of a Blue Atlas Cedar that has been standing in the Hursley grounds for around 170 years.  Sadly, this Spring it had to be removed after years of weather damage had finally taken it’s toll.

I also had my camera with me for the Open Day as I’d been asked to be one of the Official Photographers and take some photographs of the event.  I wandered around the grounds with my camera and tripod and managed to take around 400 photos!  It was nice to try something different and take some candid people shots for a change from my normal subjects.  The lighting on the day wasn’t great as it was quite a bright day, but also quite cloudy… hopefully with so many to choose from I have a few that are okay!  Some more of my photographs from the day can be seen on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

