My new toy!

About 4 years ago I bought my first digital camera – a Fuji S7000.  At the time I wanted something more than a simple ‘point and shoot’ camera, but I felt that until I learnt a little more about photography I couldn’t afford the expense of a decent SLR. 

Four years on my photograpphy has moved on a long way.  Okay, so I do still use the auto mode on my camera when I’m being lazy!  But I’ve also learnt a lot more.  I’ve got used to adjusting the various knobs on my camera to play with exposure settings, speed, macro, white balance, depth of field… and so on.  I’ve still got a LOT to learn, but decided to treat myself to my first SLR.

Quite a few people I know have had Canon’s and been really impressed with them, so after some reading up of reviews online I ordered myself a Canon EOS 450D from Amazon.  Amazon seemed to have the best price, and there is a cash back offer of £50 at the moment so I feel I have a bargain!

I couldn’t wait for my parcel to arrive… and today it did!  I expect I’ll the spend the entire weekend trying to understand the manual and take a couple of very basic shots.  I have bought myself a book on SLR photography too so hopefully I can take my photography to the next level… watch this space!

Anyway, here is the rest of the story in pictures!

My parcel has arrived!

My parcel has arrived!

Can't wait to open the box!

Opening the box

The emergence

Still in its box

First peek

Getting it out for the first time

It's out!

Installing the battery

Attach the lens

SanDisk

My beautiful new camera!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “My new toy!”

  1. depthoffieldphoto Says:

    There’s nothing like your first SLR. Good luck with it. I have Canon professional gear and I really love it.

  2. Roberta Says:

    I’ve been wanting to try a Canon, Dezz goes on & on about them. now I need to find a place that will let you try one. Can’t wait to see all you do with it!

  3. Exbury Gardens « Helena’s Blog Says:

    […] Sunday was a gorgeous sunny day and at last an opportunity to try out my new camera.  I decided to visit Exbury Gardens in the New Forest.  I wasn’t sure if it was going to be […]

  4. And now for something completely different! « Helena’s Blog Says:

    […] bought my first SLR camera back in the Summer of 2008, and I’ve tried over those 3.5 years to try new things and really […]

Leave a Reply

