Exbury Gardens

Across Top PondSunday was a gorgeous sunny day and at last an opportunity to try out my new camera.  I decided to visit Exbury Gardens in the New Forest.  I wasn’t sure if it was going to be really busy – firstly trying to drive into the New Forest, but also at the Gardens themselves, as it was the first weekend of the school summer holidays and such a beautiful day.  But luckily neither were a problem at all.

I guess the best time to visit the gardens would be when the rhododendrons, azaleas and camellias are out – all of which the gardens are best known for.  However, a summery day in July was very pleasant.  I wandered around the wooded paths, along the river, past the ponds and through the gardens.  My favourite area was the pretty Sundial Garden with it’s hidden seating area.  It felt like a secret garden in the middle of the park. 

Sundial GardenI vaguely recall visiting the gardens with my parents when I was younger – and probably thinking it was incredibly boring following my parents around while they peered at plants!  However, going back with my camera was fun – exploring areas and finding fun shots to experiment with.  Laid under trees and rolling around in the grass might have made for some interesting angles for the photographs, but certainly hasn’t helped my hayfever!

Back of Exbury HouseAs well as the gardens there is the Steam Railway and currently an Exbury Maize Maze which are both probably fun for kids, and for those wanting to learn more about the plants, or who are not so able to walk around there are Chauffeur driven Buggy Tours.  Any of these can be added on to your entry fee, or you can pay for the ‘Exbury Experience’ package which seemed very good value.  I also got given a load of 2 for the price of 1 vouchers to other locations nearby.

Before long my camera stopped taking photos – and to my surprise I realised I’d manage to fill my entire 4GB memory card.  The card I had for my old camera was only 1GB.  It was because I’d been experimenting with saving photographs to the RAW setting, which saved files of about 18MB in size, and it was also saving large .jpg files along with it.  Now I just need to learn how to post-process them!

More of the photographs I took can be found on my Flickr set.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Exbury Gardens”

  1. davidlind Says:

    We have both started taking RAW photos at about the same time. I really like this card reader. Otherwise it would take a long time to put these things in the computer!
    Why would you want to do RAW and jpg at the same time? I am sure there must be a good reason or why would they allow for that config in the camera.
    And finally good luck with the editing process! They are fun to edit. Crop. etc..

Leave a Reply

