Snow Leopard Illustration

Watching youRoger Hall contacted me a couple of weeks ago asking if he could draw from my photo of a snow leopard. Here is the final result alongside the original photograph.

Roger is a scientific illustrator and I think he’s made a good job of matching the photo and capturing the personality of this cat.

I can’t think it is easy to make illustrations of animals with fur as it must be difficult to get a sense of the fur.  I saw some more stunning animal artworks recently at the Marwell International Wildlife Art Society exhibition at Marwell Zoo.  My favourite was one by Natalie Mascall of a cats face.  Both my mum and my grandma have painted some lovely pictures, but I don’t have their talents… think I’ll stick to photography!

3 Responses to “Snow Leopard Illustration”

  1. rui Says:

    Great work, really excellent!
    congratulations for the really nice work!

    visit:
    http://www.ruisousaartworks.blogspot.com

    thanks and regards.

  2. Keith Marshall Says:

    Brilliant! Roger’s drawing is absolutely exquisite. But then the photo is good too! 🙂

  3. Bookmarks about Illustration Says:

    […] – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by squaros on 2008-12-21 Snow Leopard Illustration https://helenap.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/snow-leopard-illustration/ – bookmarked by 5 members […]

Leave a Reply

