Milestones Museum

Last weekend I went on a low light photography workshop and really want to get out and practice a little more now that I’d had a chance to see the results from the day on the computer.  The weather for my weekend off wasn’t supposed to be good so it seemed like the perfect excuse to find a local museum.

WatchmakersAfter a bit of a search I discovered Milestones Museum in Basingstoke.  It is a living history museum set all inside a massive modern building, so everything is undercover.  I gave them a quick call to check it was okay to do photography – no problem – and then head off there on Wednesday.

Once you get inside Milestones everything is laid out like a little village, with streets full of little shops.  On arrival you can pick up one of their information sets which you carry around with you, and play at various points to learn more about the artifacts.  As I was busy taking photographs though I didn’t bother.

Nuts for saleIn addition to the shops there is a pub, village green, warehouse representing the Thornycroft factory and a few exhibition areas.  Currently there is an exhibition on the Red Cross and an area displaying different house interiors through the years.  There is even a place where people can have a go at dressing up in period costumers to have their photographs taken.

It turned out to be the perfect place to go take some photographs – there was so much to see, all indoors away from the rain and I had no problem wandering around with my camera and tripod without getting in people’s way.  Quite a few things are behind glass windows in the little shops but I found little problem with the reflective glare from the glass.

TypewriterI am really pleased with the results from the day.  I’ve got some really interesting photographs, totally different from my normal landscapes and animals.  I am getting the hang of changing the exposure and ISO to get the best shot and generally getting more familiar and comfortable with my camera.

Lots more photographs from the museum can be found on my Flickr set.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

